Announces New Board Member and Officers


ST. LOUIS - February 2, 2012    Missouri Foundation for Health (MFH) recently added a new member to its Board of Directors, re-elected four current Board members, and selected its 2012 officers.  The 15-member Board provides oversight of all MFH activities and grantmaking.  Directors serve a maximum of two three-year terms.
MFH’s new Board member is Tim Swinfard, MS, of Jefferson City.  Swinfard is president and chief executive officer of the Missouri Coalition of Community Mental Health Centers.  He was a member of MFH’s Community Advisory Council (CAC) from 2007 to 2011, serving two years as its chair.  He has a bachelor of science degree in psychology from Missouri University of Science and Technology, and a master of science degree in counseling from Missouri State University.

 K. Beth Johnson, CFA, CAIA, was re-elected MFH Board chair.  Johnson is a partner at Mercer Investment Consulting LLC, advising endowment and foundation clients on asset allocation and manager selection.  She resides in University City, and joined the Board in 2006.

Corinne Walentik, MD, MPH, was re-elected Board vice chair.  She is a professor of pediatrics in the Division of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine at Saint Louis University School of Medicine, and physician executive for managed care and public policy at Cardinal Glennon Children’s Medical Center.  Walentik resides in University City.  She joined the CAC in 2001 and the Board in 2007.

Brenda Battle, RN, MBA, was elected Board secretary.  She is director of the Barnes-Jewish Hospital Center for Diversity and Cultural Competence in St. Louis.  Battle, who resides in Bridgeton, joined the CAC in 2003, and the Board in 2008.

MFH also re-elected four Board members, two of whom assume Board officer roles:

Cynthia Dean was re-elected to the Board, and named member-at-large.  She is chief executive officer of the Missouri Bootheel Regional Consortium in Sikeston.  Dean, of Poplar Bluff, joined the CAC in 2003 and the Board in 2009.

Kay Griffin, RNC-WHNP,
was re-elected to the Board.  She is a women’s health nurse practitioner with the Scott County Health Department in Sikeston. Griffin, of Scott City, joined the CAC in 2006, and the Board in 2011.

Ed Higgins, JD, was re-elected to the Board, and elected treasurer. He is a retired senior vice president with U.S. Bank.  Higgins, of St. Louis, joined the MFH Board in 2009.

Mike Peters was re-elected to the Board.  He is vice president of advocacy-Missouri for the Mercy Health System in Springfield.  Peters joined the MFH Board in 2009.

Established in 2000, MFH is the largest nongovernmental funder of community health activities in Missouri.  MFH is in its 10th year of grant making, having issued more than $440 million in grants and awards to date.  It is dedicated to serving the uninsured, underinsured and underserved in 84 Missouri counties and the City of St. Louis.


Media Contact:  Julie Johnson 
314.345.5580 (office)/ 314.640.2614 (cell)