Foundation Announces Community Advisory Council Officers

St. Louis, Mo., Sept. 10, 2010 -- The Community Advisory Council (CAC) of the Missouri Foundation for Health (MFH) has elected two officers.

                Tim Swinfard of Jefferson City was re-elected chair of the CAC.  He is president and chief executive officer of the Missouri Coalition of Community Mental Health Centers.  Swinfard holds a master of science degree in counseling from Missouri State University.  He has served on the boards of several organizations, including Community Partnership of the Ozarks, Caring Communities, and Safe Schools Healthy Students.  Swinfard originally was elected CAC chair in January 2009.

                Maureen “Mo” Bressett of Gainesville was elected vice chair of the CAC.  She is a registered pharmacist and has been a member of the CAC since 2007.  Bressett earned a master of science degree in health care administration from the University of Colorado.  She volunteers with the Second Chance Prison Canine Program based in Tucson, AZ.

                MFH’s 13-member CAC works to gather community input on health issues affecting Missourians.  It informs the grantmaking decisions and strategic planning of MFH’s Board of Directors, with special focus on programs for the uninsured, underinsured and underserved.  The CAC also is responsible for nominating Board candidates each year. 

                Established in 2000, MFH is the largest nongovernmental funder of community health activities in Missouri.  MFH is in its eighth year of grantmaking, having issued more than $383 million in grants and awards to date.  It is dedicated to improving the health of unserved and underserved residents in 84 Missouri counties and the City of St. Louis.