More from the Responsive Portfolio

Responsive Portfolio

2015 Portfolio Update

How Project Ideas Become Grants

Special Projects

General Support for Advocacy

Event Sponsorship

Grantee Resources

2013 Special Projects Grantees

2014 Special Projects Grantees

For More Information

Program Officers by region:
Click to view a map of MFH regions

Central Region:

Terry Plain
(314) 345-5542
vplain@mffh.org

Northeast Region:

Thomas Adams
(314) 345-5534
tadams@mffh.org

St. Louis Metro Region:
Maranda Witherspoon
(314) 345-5544
mwitherspoon@mffh.org

Southeast Region:

Jean Freeman-Crawford
(314) 345-5545
jcrawford@mffh.org

Southwest Region:

Michael Renner
(314) 345-5533
mrenner@mffh.org


Matt Kuhlenbeck
Program Director, Responsive Portfolio
(314) 345-5541
mkuhlenbeck@mffh.org

General Support for Advocacy (GSA)

MFH recognizes the significance of advocacy efforts in creating system-level change that will improve the health of the uninsured, underinsured and underserved in Missouri. MFH aims to strengthen health advocacy in the state by providing GSA grants to eligible nonprofit organizations engaged in health advocacy work. These unrestricted funds are not earmarked for a specific project or activity, but are intended to provide financial flexibility for organizations to address existing and emerging health advocacy issues affecting our target population.

MFH provides GSA grants as described in IRS Regulation 26CFR § 53.4945-2(a)(6)(i) to tax-exempt nonprofits involved in health-related public policy advocacy work on behalf of Missouri residents. These unrestricted funds are intended to provide financial flexibility for 501(c)(3) organizations to address emerging health policy issues in a timely way and are not earmarked for a specific project or activity.

If you have any questions regarding General Support for Advocacy grants, please contact Policy Officer Sarah Morrow at (314) 345-5536 or toll-free (800) 655-5560 or email smorrow@mffh.org.

Advocacy Trainings

MFH works to build the capacity of Missouri nonprofits to provide a voice for the uninsured, underinsured and underserved in the policymaking process. Learn more about training opportunities here.