More from the Responsive Portfolio

Responsive Portfolio

Special Projects

Mini-Grants


General Operating Support


General Support for Advocacy



Grantee Resources

2013 Special Projects Grantees



For More Information

Matt Kuhlenbeck
Program Director, Responsive Portfolio
314.345.5541
mkuhlenbeck@mffh.org

Program Officers by region:
Click to view a map of MFH regions

Central Region:

Terry Plain
314.345.5542
vplain@mffh.org

Northeast Region:

Thomas Adams
314.345.5534
tadams@mffh.org

St. Louis Metro Region:
Maranda Witherspoon
314.345.5544
mwitherspoon@mffh.org

Southeast Region:

Jean Freeman-Crawford
314.345.5545
jcrawford@mffh.org

Southwest Region:

Michael Renner
314.345.5533
mrenner@mffh.org

General Operating Support

For the past 10 years, MFH offered the Basic Support Program to support the operations of health organizations providing existing direct health programs.  In making the transition to new programs designed to strengthen the health field, MFH has discontinued the Basic Support program and plans to replace it through new program investments in General Operating Support (GOS). GOS is now part of MFH's Responsive Portfolio which was established to support health improvement efforts in communities in the MFH region.

Strengthening the health field is an important part of the Foundation's Responsive Portfolio strategy for improving the health of the uninsured and underserved in our region. Non-profits provide vital services and promote community health; the demand for services and actions that promote community health is going up; and all sources of funding are tightening.  This environment for health nonprofits increases the importance of funding intended to help organizations improve what they do. Unlike other Foundation programs that support specific projects, GOS aims to strengthen organizations. 


MFH expects to launch a program that provides GOS in mid-2014 with a new program design, eligibility requirements, and application review process that align with MFH's current strategy.  The application process will be competitive and place significant emphasis on the effectiveness of the applicant organization in improving the health of its clients or community.